Month in Review: July 2015

Hello errr-body! Here we are again for another month in review post, this time for July which is extremely flabbergasting to me. The year is flying by in a haze of reading slumpiness and general life unrest (for lack of a better term). I’ve been starting and not finishing books like its my job. I’ve also been knitting more than usual and spending far too many of my waking hours watching youtube videos. That said, my wrap-up is a little lackluster, but I’m going to do one anyways.

Books Read in July:

  1. What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund
  2. Invaded (Alienated #2) by Melissa Landers

A whopping two books. Not my best month, but hardly my worst month either. Both books were quite good, so at least quality wasn’t a problem. I also started reading Mockingbird by Chuck Wendig in July, but again… starting books and not finishing them.

In other bookish news, July bought with it new bookshelves! I’ve been wanting to replace this one shelf I’ve had for sometime now because I just didn’t love it for a bookshelf. I gave that shelf to my uncle and replaced it with four beautiful new shelves from IKEA. Eventually I’ll get some photos up of them. They really are quite purtay.

There was virtually no blog activity in July, which is what is is so I have nothing to share on that front. I do however have a bit to share on the watching front.

July in TV:

I started the month off watching more of The X-Files, however that didn’t last long. Here’s the thing, I’m struggling with the show because I don’t love certain developments, namely Doggett. I think my main issue with him, besides him being in Mulder’s place, is that every time I look at him I see him from his roles in Terminator and The Faculty. Basically, the great X-Files watch has come to a screeching halt for the time being.

I also watched a show called Star-Crossed, not realizing it was a CW show that didn’t make it past episode 13. I’m thinking about actually giving this show a post, because while it is obvious why the show was cancelled, it still had a lot of potential and there’s a part of me that loves it and wants to talk about it.

NCIS. Oh yes. So I went up to the Cape for vacation at the end of July and because me and the friend I went with are not beach people, we basically spent a week watching Netflix. Please and thank you. We watched the first 3 seasons of NCIS in full and started season 4. In a week. LOL. I’m now in season 6. I totally forgot just how much I love that show.

As far as July knits, I didn’t get a TON done, however I did finish my moms scarf which was one of my goals. I also got a huge chunk of my cardigan done while I was on vacation which makes me very happy.

July also brought me attending a show for the first time in… a very long time. I went down to Providence with my mom and a friend of ours who we took to see Amanda Palmer for her birthday. Some of you may know Amanda Palmer is married to Neil Gaiman. Who was there. And who did some readings. And SANG A SONG. Basically it was a ton of fun and I’m really glad I went. I haven’t had a chance to do something like that in forever. Stupid job and adulting.

Other happy news for me, I got one of my birthday presents a bit early this year. I’ve been whining about how slow my laptop was, it literally took forever for stuff to load on that thing. My mom, who is the best mom ever, got me a new computer for my birthday and didn’t even make me wait until my birthday! Oh, do I love it…

I’m not really sure what’s going to be going on in August. I feel like I want to read, but then I also feel like I want to watch youtube videos all day as well. It’s crazy and rather annoying. I made a list of all (I think!) of the books I’ve started and not finished in the last year or so and there are over 20 books on that list. It’s not even that they aren’t good books, I only called one a DNF, which was very, very overdue. I just have sucked at reading lately.

Anywhoodle, the whole reason I started talking about that is because I’m going to try to start finishing some of these books I’ve started recently. It’s past time.

The one for sure thing happening in August that has me dancing is BOUT OF BOOKS 14! I’m so pumped for this. I. can. not. wait.

I think it’s safe to say I’ve rambled on long enough for tonight, so I’m going to call it here.

Let me know if there are any good ‘get my ass out of a reading slump’ books out there, would ya? And, until next time, Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

