Book Review: Bengal’s Quest by Lora Leigh

bengalsquestSynopsis from Goodreads:

He was a shadow, ever shifting and insinuating, able to blend in everywhere and anywhere. The elusive ideal conceived and created by the Genetics Council, he went by just as many names as he had identities—the last one being Gideon.

Now calling himself Graeme, he hides in plain sight, terrifyingly close to his goal. A rogue Bengal Breed, he has loyalties to no one but himself. And he has a need for vengeance that surges hot and swift through his veins.

Graeme plans to exact an extreme and ruthless vendetta against those who wronged him—Breed and human alike. All will suffer his wrath: those who created him, those who pretended to love him, and those who betrayed him.

That includes the one at the center of it all: a seductive, enigmatic woman helpless against the man whose desire is just as desperate as his need to destroy.

And he’s on her scent…

Bengal’s Quest is the latest installment in Lora Leigh’s Breeds series, and let me tell you, this book had quite a bit to live up to. The building of Gideon’s story has been a major arc in the previous four or five books I’d say if not more, so there was a lot of expectation for me going into this one. That said, I really wasn’t let down.

Gideon is a hell of a character to say the least. He’s one of those ones who has his fingers dipped into so many pies that it’s hard to keep up with at times. He’s insane and he knows it and really just could care less. A lot of the time he’s running on pure instinct and cunning and I really like that about him – even when it makes him do crazy shit. That said, his crazy level is taken down a bit for this book which I thought to be an interesting move on Leigh’s part. Then again, it kind of makes sense.

Cat on the other hand is whole other bag of tricks. We knew that something was coming where she was concerned. In particular because of how what she went through relates to others in the series. Realistically, it wasn’t all that surprising what was revealed of her backstory, but I do believe that it complimented this particular match. And that’s all I can really say without spoiling anything.

I do have to admit that I expected this book to be so much longer. I was surprised at how short it was when I opened the box. However after reading it, I feel like the length of the story was perfect. Too much longer really could have just dragged a lot out whereas she managed to keep it a pretty fast moving story as is. And, though there is one editing snafu in Bengal’s Quest (a minor one), I have noticed a step up in the editing of these last couple of books which makes me a happy Hannah.

While I did really enjoy this book, I do have one complaint. With the buildup of Gideon’s story from the previous few books it was almost like Leigh was preparing us for the shit to hit the fan in one way or another. Instead of getting that like I thought I would she managed to kind of twist it into something else entirely. It’s very indicative of her ability to manipulate the story to speak – not unlike some of her characters – but I was kind of bummed that there wasn’t the massive confrontation I was expecting.

All in all, Leigh has managed to deliver another action packed book in the Breeds series. I was quite surprised how well this arc was executed seeing as it has had so much work put into it to this point and had really created expectations. Plus, major points for some winged breed action! It’s definitely not a good starting point to the series, but if you’ve made it this far, I’d say keep reading. 4/5 Stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Bengal’s Quest by Lora Leigh

Leave a Reply

