In the Library of Hannah: July 2nd

Hi guys! I’m back with another edition of In the Library of Hannah, a weekly event that I’m doing to talk about one of the many random books that I own that might not see a ton of love. It’s as simple as that, so lets get to it!

This weeks random pick is: Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates

zombiejcoSynopsis: Meet Quentin P., the most believably terrifying sexual psychopath and killer ever brought to life in fiction. The author deftly puts you inside the mind of a serial killer–succeeding not in writing about madness, but in writing with the logic of madness.

Where I got it: I actually got it from a friend of mine. She bought it when we were on vacation up in Vermont from a little secondhand bookstore we found (can’t remember the name for the life of me!) and after she read it she passed it on to me to read.

Why I got it: She told me what it was about, I was intrigued – I wasn’t a criminal justice major for nothing – and I’ve had it since.

What I thought of it: This is going to sound awful, but I loved what I read of it. I started reading it and never finished the book even though its really short, and have wanted to go back and re-read it all ever since. I just remember it being really haunting and quite simply fucked up. I must finish it.

That’s today’s random pick! Have you read this one or any other JCO that you think I should check out? Let me know! Until next time Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

