In the Library of Hannah: June 25th

Hi all! I’m back with another edition of In the Library of Hannah, a weekly event that I’m doing to talk about one of the many random books that I own that might not see a ton of love. It’s as simple as that, so lets get to it!

This weeks random book is: The Abstinence Teacher by Tom Perrotta

theabteacherSynopsis: Stonewood Heights is the perfect place to raise children: it’s got good schools, solid values and a healthy real estate market.  Parents in the town are involved in their children’s lives, and often in other children’s lives, too—coaching sports, driving carpool, focusing on enriching experiences.  Ruth Ramsey is the high school human sexuality teacher whose openness is not appreciated by all her students—or their parents.  Her daughter’s soccer coach is Tim Mason, a former stoner and rocker whose response to hitting rock bottom was to reach out and be saved.  Tim’s introduction of Christianity on the playing field horrifies Ruth, while his evangelical church sees a useful target in the loose-lipped sex ed teacher.  But when these two adversaries in a small-town culture war actually talk to each other, a surprising friendship begins to develop.

Where I got it: I’m pretty sure I got it from Barnes & Noble. If not I picked it up on vacation at Village Book Store in Littleton, NH.

Why got it: I think the cover originally caught my eye, but once I read the title I knew I had to get it. So I did.

What I thought of it: I absolutely adored this book. I read it over a day or two while I was on vacation and it instantly went on my favorites list. The story, the characters, Tom Perrotta’s writing… all of it was just fan-fricking-tastic!

That’s my spotlighted book of the week! Tell me, have you read this one? Did you love it? Any books you want to share? Feel free to share and until next time Happy Reading!

 

One thought on “In the Library of Hannah: June 25th

Leave a Reply

