In the Library of Hannah: June 4th

Hello all! Happy Thursday! I am here today to rollout a new weekly feature kind of thing where I’m going to share about a random book on my bookshelves.

A lot of us have a LOT of books, but they don’t always get talked about. Whether it’s a book we read forever ago or one we purchased and never got around to, there are always books to talk about. You never know when you’re going to come across one of those gems. Not to mention, the best way to find books is probably to talk about them.

I’m going to call this In the Library of Hannah, at least for now, because my friends lovingly refer to my bedroom as the Library of Hannah seeing as I have tons of books, lol. And possibly also because my creativeness does not tend towards naming things. So let’s get to it.

This weeks random book is: Demon’s Fright by Penelope Banka Kreps

20150604_232229

Synopsis: When Patti’s mom told her they’d be moving down to Trapper’s Cay after the divorce, Patti groaned. The small Florida town was boring. And, the kids who lived there were weird. Especially Dirk Emerson. He acted like he had some dark power, but all he did was party with his druggie friends and read from some old book of black magic spells.
At least, that’s what everyone thought. Until the demons arrived. Soon, innocent children became their playthings, the victims of a horrible ritual resurrected from the dawn of time…

Where I got it: I purchased this from my favorite used bookstore, The Book Barn in Niantic, CT

Why I got it: A couple of years ago I came across a random forum post online that talked about Zebra Horror books. The covers were cheesy and the plots reminded me of B-Horror movies and I fell in love. However, I couldn’t find them online anywhere. So now, every time I go into a used bookstore I go the Horror section and look for any Zebra Horror books I can find. And I buy them.

I haven’t read this book yet, but I just can’t get enough of the Zebra Horror stories. I don’t think I’ve found one that I don’t like yet. Someday, I’ll read this one to!

Are you familiar with this book or any other Zebra Horror books? Do you have any sort of books that are auto buys like this? Want to talk about one of your books? Please share and Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “In the Library of Hannah: June 4th

  1. kamifurr June 6, 2015 / 10:36 am

    I have no idea what a Zebra Horror Book is, but it sounds like a fun 80s movie.

    • thebookpub June 6, 2015 / 11:03 am

      They’re just published by Zebra and for some reason I’ve always called them Zebra Horror books. But you’re right that’s basically exactly what they are! I can’t get enough, lol. =]

Leave a Reply

