Mini Reviews: Tempted by His Best Friend & The Fantasy

I’m here today with a couple of mini-reviews for novellas I’ve read recently, so lets get to it!

Tempted by His Best Friend by Cari Quinn

temptedbyhisbestfriendFrom Goodreads:

Real identity optional… Kindergarten teachers aren’t known for breaking the rules, but Steph is ready to go undercover—and get under the covers—to work her magic on her best friend, Landon. Sexy costume necessary, multiple orgasms crucial, real identity optional.

Entangled’s Brazen line is a go-to for me when I’m looking for a quick and fun read and I’m happy to say that Tempted by His Best Friend didn’t let me down.

This is a novella that features characters that were amazingly fleshed out considering the length of the story. I felt like I was getting a peak into this established relationship and I wasn’t lost or wondering about anything, I was just able to enjoy all the ups and downs as it turns into a whole new kind of relationship. It also didn’t hurt one bit that it featured one of my favorite romance tropes.

All in all, Tempted by His Best Friend was a very fun read. The story moved along quickly and it did not lack for steamy moments. If you like a quick erotic romance, this one is worth a read. 4/5 stars.

The Fantasy (A Desperate Man #1) by Ella Frank & Brooke Blaine

thefantasyFrom Goodreads:

Fantasies – we all have them.
For some it’s their dream job; others want the wedding, the 2.5 kids, the white picket fence.
My fantasies are a bit more…depraved.
Dark and sinful, they have destroyed relationships and my livelihood, yet I still submit to them like a slave.
Sex.
For most, it’s a natural expression of love, caring, or lust.
But there are those of us who can’t stop once we’ve had a taste.
Those of us who don’t want to.
And the shame of that never-ending cycle will eat us alive…
My name is Evan James, and I am a sex addict.

The Fantasy is a book that I recently came across from this list and I was incredibly curious. So, like any good book worm, I got my hands on a copy right away and read my little heart out. While it wasn’t quite what I expected, even having read the synopsis, I still very much enjoyed the read.

I love the hard-edged, gritty feel that this novella has. It reminded me a lot of when I read Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners books. There was none of the flowery language or ridiculous descriptions that we so often see in romance and erotica and I just loved the change of feeling that this novella gave off. Add to that Evan’s character, this struggle he has with himself and the feel of the harsh reality he’s living due to his sex addiction and you’ve got a great read.

Bottom line, this is a great erotic novella with a very different feel than a lot of the stuff that is out there. It kept my attention from start to finish, I don’t think I looked up once while reading. I am eagerly awaiting news of a second installment and definitely recommend it for anyone looking for something a bit different. 4/5 stars.

 

One thought on “Mini Reviews: Tempted by His Best Friend & The Fantasy

Leave a Reply

