Bout of Books 12: Day 1 Stuffs!

boutofbooks12

Guyyyyys! It’s Bout of Books 12, like officially! I’m here with all of my superb day 1 updates and challenges and such. So buckle up and enjoy the awesomesauce, lol (I may have indulged in a little extra coffee today! Sorry, not sorry!).

Challenges:

The first of today’s challenges is the Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt hosted by Stephanie at Caught Read Handed.  Here’s my photo from the twitters for this challenge:

bob12scavhunt

Find a book with the following criteria on a bookshelf:
1. Find an author with the same initials as you – Haruki Murakami (HM) – this was surprisingly easier than I thought it would be for some reason.
2. Find a book with the color yellow on it – Watchmen – Just look at all that yellow.
3. Find an author’s name with the letter “S” in it – That would be the nearly cut off Ursula K. LeGuin – Oops!
4. Find a book with a female protagonist – Shadow on the Crown – No matter how many times I take this book off my shelves for a challenge I still never seem to read the damn thing. One of these days! I swear!
5. Find the longest book you own – That would be not The Stand. As I’m writing this post I just remembered I have a book longer than The Stand and its 1100-some-odd pages. My longest book is ACTUALLY Hunger’s Bride by Paul Anderson at 1200-some-odd pages, so go me for observational skills.
6. Find a book with a map in it or on it – The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson – though I didn’t actually take a picture of the map because that would make me seem too prepared… or something.
7. Find a book with a face on it (photograph or illustrated) – Unsinkable by Debbie Reynolds which has Debbie Reynolds beautiful face on it… And which I CANNOT wait to read because I frickin’ love Debbie Reynolds and I just got this book with my Christmas gift cards. Best TV grandma EVER! Halloweentown anyone?!!?!?!!?
Bonus: Find something on your shelf that isn’t a book – The Serta sheep (#15) that I or my mom got when one of us got a new mattress, LOL. Also, his eyes look a little freaky in that photo, so sorry.

The second challenge for day one is the New Years Resolutions challenge hosted by Chaiann at The Book That… This challenge is all about using a book title that relates to some of your New Years Resolutions, reading or otherwise.

I don’t know that I really made any official Resolutions for the year, but I do have some goals that I’d like to achieve and work towards this year.

The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky – This fits a couple of my goals quite well. One is to get back to school. I’m so close to finishing by bachelors and I want to start prepping for grad school. Second, I want to read more non-fiction. I haven’t been reading it like I used to and there is just so much to learn about in the world. So, yay for non-fiction and education.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – I want to see more of the world. And perhaps I can’t travel far – those student loans are a killer – but I would like to go to a few places I have never been before this year. I’m happy even if it is a town in my state or a neighboring state that I’ve never spent time in before. I just want to walk down some different streets if you know what I mean.

The Man Who Loved Books Too Much by Alison Hoover Bartlett – This is another twofer. First, I need to show the books that I own some love. I have books that I’ve owned for over a decade but yet, I’ve never cracked the cover. How ridiculous is that? Second, I need to let go of books (and I know you’re thinking HOW is that loving books?!?! Well let me explain kiddies!). There are books that I DON’T love, and yet I hold on to them because I want ALL THE BOOKS. I need to be okay with letting go of some of those books so that they might find their way to someone who will love them for more than a pretty cover or some such nonsense.

Reading Updates:

This is Bout of Books so there’s bound to be some reading eventually. I started off Bout of Books with a bang and read Alienated by Melissa Landers from start to finish in a few hours this morning. Woot! Of course I haven’t been able to decide what to read since so it’s all I’ve read so far.

It's a book! That I read!
It’s a book! That I read!

I think I’m going to stick with the teenage alien theme and start my re-read/finish of Jennifer Armentrout’s  Lux series, but if I should change my mind I’ve also got Attachments by Rainbow Rowell and North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell on hand.

Hopefully I’ll get some more reading done for day 1, it is only 10:21 as I write this, so time will tell.

How has your first day of Bout of Books gone? Please share and Happy Reading!!

5 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12: Day 1 Stuffs!

    • thebookpub January 5, 2015 / 11:05 pm

      I’m saying! I worked really hard at developing those skills, lol! And I swear – the sheep usually looks adorable. I think it’s the angle or something!

  1. Karsyn @ KaKiJoKoJa January 6, 2015 / 4:15 pm

    Congrats on finishing up a book. I hope you enjoy what you choose to read next! Here’s how my Day One ended up. 🙂

    • thebookpub January 7, 2015 / 8:57 pm

      Thanks, I’ve been sticking with the teenage alien theme for the most part so I should be good, lol.

Leave a Reply

