My TBR List: January 2015 – Voting!

MyTBRList

The My TBR List meme is hosted by Michelle over at Because Reading. Part of being a reader is having tons of books and never knowing which to read next. This whole meme is all about you guys helping us to decide what to read! Here’s how it all works:

Each month you will make a post with three books from your TBR List (these books can be already on your kindle or shelf or books you might want to purchase) and add your link on the linky that will be provided on my post. Your followers and the people on the linky will help you choose which book you will read next. The following Saturday you will announce the book that won. Then read the book and on the last Saturday of the month post a review.

Here are my picks for the month of January!

etiquetteespionage1. Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) by Gail Carriger

It’s one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It’s quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners–and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, young ladies learn to finish…everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but the also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage–in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year’s education.

2. Bird Box by Josh Malermanbird box

Most people ignored the outrageous reports on the news. But they became too frequent, they became too real. And soon, they began happening down the street. Then the Internet died. The television and radio went silent. The phones stopped ringing. And we couldn’t look outside anymore. Malorie raises the children the only way she can; indoors. The house is quiet. The doors are locked, the curtains are closed, mattresses are nailed over the windows. They are out there. She might let them in. The children sleep in the bedroom across the hall. Soon she will have to wake them. Soon she will have to blindfold them. Today they must leave the house. Today they will risk everything.

wetheanimals3. We the Animals by Justin Torres

Three brothers tear their way through childhood — smashing tomatoes all over each other, building kites from trash, hiding out when their parents do battle, tiptoeing around the house as their mother sleeps off her graveyard shift. Paps and Ma are from Brooklyn — he’s Puerto Rican, she’s white — and their love is a serious, dangerous thing that makes and unmakes a family many times.

Life in this family is fierce and absorbing, full of chaos and heartbreak and the euphoria of belonging completely to one another. From the intense familial unity felt by a child to the profound alienation he endures as he begins to see the world, this beautiful novel reinvents the coming-of-age story in a way that is sly and punch-in-the-stomach powerful.

Written in magical language with unforgettable images, this is a stunning exploration of the viscerally charged landscape of growing up, how deeply we are formed by our earliest bonds, and how we are ultimately propelled at escape velocity toward our futures.

Vote for your choice here!

Thanks for taking the time to vote and don’t forget to check back next Saturday to see which book won!

17 thoughts on “My TBR List: January 2015 – Voting!

  1. Stormi D Johnson January 3, 2015 / 3:07 pm

    Okay that was hard to choose from cause I love Etiquette and wanted to vote for it but Bird Box sounds super creepy and sounds so up my alley so I want to know what you think of it so I voted for Bird Box. 🙂

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 3:13 pm

      Awesome. It is a difficult choice to make – hence needing the help, lol! Thanks for the vote! =]

  2. Because reading :) (@Limabean74) January 3, 2015 / 3:19 pm

    Ok so I picked Bird Box by Josh Malerman because someone else had Etiquette on there list and I picked it already so I thought I would pick something different 🙂 They all sound like they would be great reads!

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 10:49 pm

      You’re totally right, it’s really hard to pick just one. Thanks for voting!

  3. Trish @ Between My Lines January 3, 2015 / 3:55 pm

    I had to vote for Etiquette & Espionage because finishing school! That sounds like so much fun. Plus mystery and humour would make for a great read!

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 10:52 pm

      It does seem like a fun book. I’ve read some of Carriger’s other stuff, but for some reason I just never picked this one up. Whoops.

  4. Karsyn @ KaKiJoKoJa January 3, 2015 / 4:24 pm

    I voted for the Carriger because it’s the only one I’ve heard of, and I voted for it elsewhere today. 😀

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 10:53 pm

      I saw that earlier that I wasn’t the only one with it on my list, lol. Thanks for the vote.

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 11:08 pm

      Thanks for voting! I’m pretty curious about it as well.

  5. Berls January 3, 2015 / 5:38 pm

    You’re the second one to have E&E on the list! But, like for her – I voted for a different one because I just read E&E and thought it was only ok. Bird Box sounds potentially awesome, so I voted for it. Can’t wait to see what wins!

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 11:10 pm

      So true, Bird Box has TONS of potential. I hope it is amazeballs when I finally read it (whether this month or not). Thanks for the vote! =]

  6. Lola January 3, 2015 / 6:12 pm

    I voted for Etiguette and Espionage as I alreayd voted for that one on a different blog as well and it sounds interesting 🙂

    • thebookpub January 3, 2015 / 11:11 pm

      E&E is definitely getting some love today. And it does seem intriguing! Thank you for voting!

  7. Bookworm Brandee January 4, 2015 / 7:46 am

    I really wanted to pick Espionage but ended up voting for We the Animals…it just sounds gripping! Whichever book is chosen, I hope you enjoy it!!

    • thebookpub January 4, 2015 / 12:04 pm

      Thanks! We the Animals sounds really good so I hope to enjoy it when I finally read it!

  8. Jenna @ Rather Be Reading YA January 4, 2015 / 2:31 pm

    Etiquette & Espionage is one of my choices this month too so I voted for that one.

Leave a Reply

