My TBR List: December 2014 – Voting!

MyTBRList

The My TBR List meme is hosted by Michelle over at Because Reading. Part of being a reader is having tons of books and never knowing which to read next. This whole meme is all about you guys helping us to decide what to read! Here’s how it all works:

Each month you will make a post with three books from your TBR List (these books can be already on your kindle or shelf or books you might want to purchase) and add your link on the linky that will be provided on my post. Your followers and the people on the linky will help you choose which book you will read next. The following Saturday you will announce the book that won. Then read the book and on the last Saturday of the month post a review.

Simple enough, right?!ย I’m super psyched to be taking part in this meme – I swear it has my name written all over it. So, without further adieu here are my three picks for December!

turningangel

1. Turning Angel by Greg Iles:

After winning the most dangerous case of his career, prosecutor Penn Cage decides to remain in his Southern hometown to raise his young daughter in a safe haven. But nowhere is truly safe — not from long-buried secrets, or murder….When the nude body of prep school student Kate Townsend is found near the Mississippi River, Penn’s best friend, Drew Elliott, is desperate for his counsel. An esteemed family physician, Drew makes a shocking confession that could put him on death row. Penn will do all he can to exonerate Drew, but in a town where the gaze of a landmark cemetery statue — the Turning Angel — never looks away, Penn finds himself caught on the jagged edge of blackmail, betrayal, and deadly violence.

 

2. The Needle in the Blood by Sarah Bower:needleintheblood

January 1067. Charismatic bishop Odo of Bayeux commissions a wall hanging, on a scale never seen before, to celebrate the conquest of Britain by his brother, William, Duke of Normandy. What he cannot anticipate is how utterly this will change his life-even more than the invasion itself.

His life becomes entangled with the women who embroider his hanging, especially Gytha-handmaiden to the fallen Saxon queen and his sworn enemy. But against their intentions, they fall helplessly in love. Friends become enemies, enemies become lovers; nothing in life or in the hanging is what it seems.

 

americangods

3. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Days before his release from prison, Shadow’s wife, Laura, dies in a mysterious car crash. Numbly, he makes his way back home. On the plane, he encounters the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America.

Together they embark on a profoundly strange journey across the heart of the USA, whilst all around them a storm of preternatural and epic proportions threatens to break.

Scary, gripping and deeply unsettling, AMERICAN GODS takes a long, hard look into the soul of America. You’ll be surprised by what and who it finds there…

 

Vote Here! =]

 

Thank you for taking the time to vote and don’t forget to stop by next Saturday the 13th to see what book I’ll be reading!

8 thoughts on “My TBR List: December 2014 – Voting!

  1. Karsyn @ KaKiJoKoJa December 7, 2014 / 10:21 am

    Welcome to the meme, you’re going to love it!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I voted for Turning Angel, because though I haven’t read it, I have read other Greg Iles books and enjoyed them. I hope you love whatever gets picked!!

    • thebookpub December 8, 2014 / 4:07 pm

      Thanks, I’m thinking I will too! And yes! I read Third Degree by Greg Iles in about two sittings. It was fantastic, so I’ve been wanting to read more of his books.

  2. bookwormbrandee December 8, 2014 / 10:55 am

    Whoa, this was a hard decision. It was a toss up for me between The Needle in the Blood and American Gods…I ended up choosing The Needle in the Blood because I’ve been in the mood for some historical fiction lately. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you enjoy whichever book is chosen and I look forward to seeing what you think!

    • thebookpub December 8, 2014 / 4:33 pm

      I know what you mean, lol! Thanks for voting, I’m excited to see what I’ll be reading this month. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Lola December 8, 2014 / 5:04 pm

    I hadn’t heard of any of these books before, so it was a hard choice for me. I ended up voting for Needle in the Blood as it sounded like a romance.

    • thebookpub December 8, 2014 / 9:01 pm

      I agree, it does seem to have some romance aspects in it which is part of what piques my curiosity about it. Thanks for stopping to vote!

  4. Trish December 8, 2014 / 5:20 pm

    I voted for Turning Angel beause I love the sound of secrets, blackmail, betrayal and murder! Sounds like it will be action packed.
    Hope you enjoy whichever one wins ๐Ÿ™‚

    • thebookpub December 8, 2014 / 9:02 pm

      Thanks, I’ve had good luck with Greg Iles previously so I figure I can’t go wrong with Turning Angel if it wins, lol!

Leave a Reply

