The TBR Tag!

Recently I came across this post at On Starships and Dragonwings, and then found that the TBR tag had made the rounds of the blogosphere. I wasn’t tagged or anything, but I wanna be a cool kid and do it too! 😀

1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Well, I’d say it’s a mix of Goodreads, spreadsheets, miracles, and luck. I have a ton of books and I keep trying to get everything synchronized, but alas, my lists change faster than I have the time to keep up with them.

2. Is your TBR pile mostly print or ebooks?

I would say it’s about 60/40 print to ebooks. Here’s the thing. I own a lot of books. I binge buy at used book stores, and I’m a sucker for freebies on the interwebs so I’ve accumulated a lot of books. Perhaps when I take vacation in January I can finally catalog them all!

3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

This depends. I tend to be a moody reader, so when I pick up a book I simply have to be in the mood to read it. Basically, I stare at my bookshelves for an hour until I find something I want to read. If that fails, I go to overdrive and randomly borrow something from my library’s e-catalog.

4. What’s been on your TBR the longest?

According to Goodreads, Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris. In reality, I think Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. I bought my copy of Sense & Sensibility the summer before seventh or eighth grade and then never read it. Oops.

5. A book you recently added to your TBR?

As a book I’d like to read in general, The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson. I came across it voting for the Goodreads 2014 Awards and I’ve loved everything I’ve read from her, so it’s a natural decision to add it.
As a book I purchased and intend to read, What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund. This book looks SO very interesting.

6. A book that’s on your TBR strictly because of it’s beautiful cover?

plagueofdoves

 

I bought this from the bargain pile at B&N like five years ago because the cover caught my eye. It’s simple, but frickin’ gorgeous! To this day, I don’t even know what it’s about, but I know I like the cover.

7. A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes. I don’t want to say that I never plan on reading this book exactly, but I don’t know that I’ll ever successfully talk myself into reading it. I bought it years ago knowing that it’s a classic, and I kind of want to see what its like… but who knows.

8. An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

SO MANY. ALL OF THEM. But one of them… The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead. OMG… Where did they take her and what are they doing to her?!?!!??!!? That is all.

9. A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read but you?

There is no shortage of answers to this question either, but I’d have to go with Mistborn. Or, Brandon Sanderson in general. I keep buying his books because they look good and everyone and their moms recommend them, but I haven’t read a single one yet.

10. A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

This might be a cheaty answer, but the A Song of Ice & Fire series by George R.R. Martin. Everyone I know who has read these books recommends them to me, and I did read (and love) the first one, but I still have to read from book two on.

11. A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

Captivated by You (Crossfire #4) by Sylvia Day. I love it. Angsty, dysfunctional love. What’s not to want about that. And! as it’s 1AM it SHOULD finally be available to read! I love Tuesdays!

12. How many books on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

goodreads

516. If only that were the true number, because honestly, there are so many more!

13. Tag some people.

At this point, so many people have done this tag, that I don’t even know where to begin. So, if you want to do the tag, just do it and let me know!

Happy Reading!!

One thought on “The TBR Tag!

Leave a Reply

