Dewey’s Read-a-thon: Post 1

dewey-300x300

It’s finally here, Dewey’s Read-a-thon! it’s about 4 hours in and I’m finally joining in for the long haul here. That being said, lets get right to it so the reading can commence.

Opening Meme:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
I am reading from Connecticut in the good ol’ USofA.
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
Jane Eyre! I’ve been looking forward to this book for a long time so I’m happy to be digging in to it today!
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
Swedish Fish. I’m a sucker for those things.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
I quite happily got my little brothers into reading by giving them with these awesome dinosaur books I found. Good influence right here! =]
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
I’ve actually switched up my reading method. I decided to go the one big book route with some smaller books mixed in for breaks. In the past I’ve just bounced from book to book to book, so we’ll see how this goes today.

Hour 8 update:

Firstly, how the heck is it hour 8 already?! I can’t believe it. I’ve been having trouble keeping myself from getting distracted and what not, so the only reading I’ve done so far is about the first 65 pages of Jane Eyre. I’m thinking that I’m going to unplug for a while and see if that doesn’t help me with the focusing.

That being said, I do have a couple of the mini challenges I’d like to do real quick!

The first challenge is the Name Your Read-a-thon challenge which is hosted by Felicia over at The Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog. Basically, this challenge is about making up a read-a-thon name from our Dewey’s to-read pile.

mainreads

restreads

Here’s the pictures of my to-read pile from earlier. Sorry I didn’t take a new, prettier picture that makes sense for the challenge, but you know, I’m a lazypants and reading, lol. Or wanting to get reading at least.

Here’s the name of my read-a-thon:

The Clash of Geektastic Stories: A Saga.

I think that’s a decent read-a-thon name considering I basically love all things geek, yes?

The second challenge is the Show It Off challenge being host by Kay at Dead Book Darling. This challenge is all about sharing our books that we love and are proud of.

The books I’m planning to show off for this challenge are the books on my favorites shelf. I have a section of a huge IKEA shelf that I use for the books that I love the most, that have inspired me the most, etc. etc.

showitoffI’ve been growing this particular shelf since I read The Odyssey like… a million years ago and realized that I needed to show certain books off. Even if it is only for me, lol. This is a pretty varied shelf with all kinds of different titles, but these are the books that mean more to me than any others.

I think that’s it for now. I’m going to attempt some reading for a while, but please, let me know how your read-a-thon’s are going. If you’ve participated in any of the challenges, let me know! I’d love to check out the other entries!

Hour 11 Update:

My plan to read more Jane Eyre didn’t exactly pan out as my mom came home right as I sat down with my coffee, so I talked to her for a few and then ended up picking up Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris and finishing it. As sad as I am to say goodbye to the series, I’m glad I did finally finish that book because I’ve been avoiding it for a long time.

Leave a Reply

