Dewey’s Read-a-thon: Midway Point and Beyond

dewey-300x300

We’re officially at the halfway point of Dewey’s which is both exciting and sad. I’ve been letting myself get distracted way too much for the first half, but I’m finding my groove (right on time, lol!) and starting to get things done here.

Progress so far:

I’ve finished one book, Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris. I didn’t read it in it’s entirety, but just finished what I had left of it. I’m also just under 100 pages into Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
2. How many books have you read so far?
I’ve finished one book and read about a 5th of the second.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
Still Jane Eyre, but also Saga, Vol. 1. I’ve been waiting a long time for the one.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
Most of my interruptions are of my own making. I’m just sort of going with the flow of them. Seeing as my main goal is just to enjoy the day, I’m not going to let myself get too bent out of shape over my progress.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
That I haven’t eaten more, haha. I’m notorious for snacking while I read, but I’ve done a decent job of keep that under wraps today. =]

Hour 18 Update:

So, I’ve read another 50 or so pages of Jane Eyre since my last update. I was hoping to finish it during the read-a-thon but I’m not sure if I’ll succeed on that one. There’s still time! I’ve also read Saga, Vol. 1 which was fucking fantastic. I must get my hands on the next two volumes.

Pet Parade mini challenge:

This mini-challenge is being hosted by Andi over at Estella’s Revenge. I’ve been reading with my dogs most of today. I have two Jack Russell Terriers, 9 and 10 years old and they’re named Jack and Jill. Jack is off sleeping in my mom’s room, but Jill has stayed by my side.

jillpetparade

There she is. I tried to get her to look at me, but she was ignoring me since we’re in the office right now and she can’t curl up next to me in here like she can on the couch, lol. Once we go back into the living room she’ll be over it though. My dog here is a little spitfire!

Hour 23 Update:

We’re getting very close to the end of the read-a-thon which is quite sad! It’s 6:17 AM for me and I have to say, the droopy eyes are here. I just took a break from Jane Eyre, which is getting tough to keep up with in my sleepy state, and read Sex Criminals, Vol. 1 by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky.

I don’t want to start anything new at this point so I think I’m going to try to keep reading Jane Eyre until the end of the read-a-thon. If I can’t though, I do have the last few chapters of The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan that I can read as well. Honestly, I’m just hoping to make it to the end… time will tell!

How’re you guys doing as we get to the end of the read-a-thon? Feel free to share!

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s Read-a-thon: Midway Point and Beyond

    • thebookpub October 19, 2014 / 3:00 am

      Thanks! We both appreciate it, lol! =]

Leave a Reply

