Getting Ready for Dewey’s Read-a-thon!

dewey-300x300

 

With Dewey’s right around the corner preparations are in full force for 24 hours of reading. I personally have been thinking about my reading choices for the day as well as the very important… snacks!

Reading wise I’ve decided that I’m going to have one big book that is my main read and I have a few other books on hand for when I find myself needing a break. The only trouble is that even with the read-a-thon starting tomorrow I haven’t decided on my main book, lol. But I’ve got time! Right?

Here’s what I’ve got for possible main choices:

mainreads

– A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) by George R. R. Martin
– Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
– The Bronze Horseman (The Bronze Horseman #1) by Paullina Simons
– Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde

I’m pretty excited about all of these books as an option because I’m sure there’s tons of meat to dig into during the read-a-thon, but I’m terrible at choosing. I may well end up using the eeny-meeny-miny-mo method of choosing because I’m a five year-old inside. In all seriousness though, if you have any reading suggestions, please share them! =]

On the other hand, I’ve chosen a few ‘rest’ reads, as I’ve taken to calling them, with no problem of course! They are:

restreads

– What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund
– Geektastic: Stories From the Nerd Herd by Holly Black and Cecil Castelucci
– Sex Criminals, Vol. 1 by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky
– Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian Vaughan & Fiona Staples

A couple graphic novels, a nerdy short story collection, and a simple and interesting seeming book about reading… perfect books to give my brain a break with.

After work today I’ll be stocking up on my snacks of course, so aside from making a final book decision that’s all I have left to do… aside from read of course.

As for the read-a-thon itself, I’m planning to take it easy. I’m not going to set any crazy goals other than just having fun. That’s the most important thing for me. It’s been a couple of years since I’ve done a Dewey’s 24-hr Read-a-thon so I want to get the most out of this one. Come Saturday, likely about 2 hours into the read-a-thon (since I’m not a morning person and 8 am comes early for a night owl like me) I’ll start posting and updating and such so keep an eye out for that.

Are you participating in Dewey’s this weekend? How’s your prep going if you are? Feel free to share with the class and Happy ‘Thonning!

Leave a Reply

