Graphic Novel Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, Leigh Dragoon & Emma Vieceli

vampacademygraphicSynopsis from Goodreads:

After two years on the run, best friends Rose and Lissa are caught and returned to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a private high school for vampires and half-bloods. It’s filled with intrigue, danger—and even romance.

Enter their dark, fascinating world through a new series of 144-page full-color graphic novels. The entire first Vampire Academy novel has been adapted for book one by Leigh Dragoon and overseen by Richelle Mead, while the beautiful art of acclaimed British illustrator Emma Vieceli brings the story to life.

I adore Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series, so it was only a matter of time before I jumped into the graphic novels. Overall, I did enjoy this. It was a super quick sort of read.

The story: I found the story itself to be adapted quite well for this format. I’m very familiar with the story, but if I weren’t I would not have been lost while reading because all of the important things were there. That being said, I did find some of the transitions to be a bit abrupt. It didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the book or anything, but it was noticeable while reading.

The art: All in all, I liked the art. There was a lot of detail packed into the drawings, plus I thought that the way it was drawn out fit the feel of the story. My favorite part of the art though is the use of color. In particular, the background colors. The artist used great background color to really set the mood, or feel of each particular part of the story.

Bottom line, I really enjoyed this telling of Vampire Academy. It’s a great way to brush up on the story line of the first book quickly and I’ll definitely be going back for more of the Vampire Academy graphic novels. 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

