Bout of Books: Day 4!

boutofbooks11

It is day 4 of Bout of Books! The week of reading extravaganza continues on and there is nothing quite like it! I’m quite happy with all of my progress so far and I’m hoping to be able to keep it up through the rest of the read-a-thon. That said, let’s move on with the challenge and updates!

Challenge:

Today’s challenge is the Like This, Try This Challenge hosted over at Writing My Own Fairy Tale. It’s all about recommending books based on other books, movies, etc. I’m going to do a few different ones and hopefully they aren’t too stereotypical!  Here goes!

If you like The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer try the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead.

Why: The Vampire Academy books are simply amazing! They’re well written and action packed, the world is just flushed out so well, and if you ask me, they’re unputdownable! I don’t re-read the series every year for nothing!

vampacademy

If you like The Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy by E.L. James try the Crossfire series by Sylvia Day.

Why: Fifty Shades of Grey got a lot of love when it hit the mainstream, but (hopefully without sounding too elitist) Sylvia Day just delivers SO MUCH MORE. That angsty hero, a tough female lead (who’s not afraid to call her bits what they are!) and the writing is just so much better. I could go on, but I’ll stop there.

crossfir

If you like Roswell (TV show) try the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Why: Armentrout delivers everything you could want in an ‘aliens living among us’ tale with this series. Her character development is spot on and there isn’t a boring page in her books.

obsidian

There’s some recommendations. It’s hard not to recommend ALL THE BOOKS because after all we are all book nerds here, but I’m going to restrict myself. I do however want your recommendations! Please, let me know what you think I should read, or link me to your posts because I want to know. There’s nothing like finding more great books!

Reading:

Day 4 was another decent day of reading for me! I finished ANOTHER Sookie Stackhouse book. I’m reading these like a boss, lol. Here’s my reads fr the day:

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie #5) by Charlaine Harris (85 pages)
Definitely Dead (Sookie #6) by Charlaine Harris (85 pages)

How perfect is that? 85 pages from each book – it’s too bad I didn’t play lotto!

Day 4 total: 170 pages
Bout of Books so far: 820 pages

How has your progress been? Anything you’re looking forward to and what not? Feel free to share! Also, again – recommendations! I would love them! Happy Reading y’alls!

 

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books: Day 4!

  1. Elsi August 23, 2014 / 12:25 pm

    820 pages in the first 4 days! Wow, that’s a lot of reading. Don’t you just love Sookie Stackhouse? For me, the books were *much* better than the TV adaptation.

    • thebookpub August 23, 2014 / 9:25 pm

      It sure is! I’m kind of surprised at myself, I usually don’t read that much when I want to for something like Bout of Books, lol.
      And I totally agree about the show. True Blood is entertaining enough, but the books are where it’s at. If I had to choose between the two I’d take those books over the show any day!

Leave a Reply

