Bout of Books: Day 2!

boutofbooks11

It is day 2 of Bout of Books! How’s everyone feeling? Still reading your little hearts away I hope.

This is where I’m going to start compiling all of my super exciting (totally!) day two things. Starting with…

Challenges:

Today’s challenges are hosted by Crystal at Infinite Ink and Alysia of My Little Pocketbooks. Many thanks to those gals for hosting today!

The first challenge, over at Infinite Ink is the OTP, or One True Pairing challenge.

Now, I don’t usually think about things like OTP’s or anything. However, I do have an all-time favorite literary couple! Can you guess????

elizabethanddarcy001

Oh, yeah. I am all about the Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennett love. There’s a reason I own/have read a few dozen Pride and Prejudice variations and sequels. It’s because this is, in my mind, the most perfect couple EVER.

Now, hear me out. Obviously, we don’t know for sure how things turn out after they get married, but we do know all about what they had to go through to get there. We get to know what kind of people they are and how they change. And that’s what cements it.

So at the beginning Mr. Darcy is this totally haughty rich dude who’s kinda like I’m sick of these girls who want me for my money and their moms who want me for my estate and I’ll probably never get a chance to marry for love so I’ll just stick my nose up at everyone and be done with it. And that’s totally what he does. Except this woman who’s totally not special or rich or even remotely close to the category of who he should be marrying just knocks his socks off. And he’s like I’ll have me some of that. Except he’s still super uptight and Miss Bennett is like you can have your fortune, I don’t need it, even though my family is actually rather screwed if my father passes.

At the end, Darcy figures out that it’s not his name, fortune, or estate that Elizabeth wants and Elizabeth figures out that Darcy didn’t get that way because he really is an asshole, but rather he really is this super loyal and awesome guy who just wants to take care of his peoples.

So maybe that’s not the most eloquent explanation, but it’s why I love this couple. They’re both so smart, but they realize that there’s still much to learn about this big bad world. And in the end they’re totally in love and happy, and I always wish that there had been series back when Jane Austen wrote this book like there are today because I want more!

Anywhoodle, that’s my literary pairing of choice. I could keep going, but I’ll spare you guys! What’s yours?

The second challenge of today was the Book Spine Poetry challenge, hosted over at My Little Pocketbooks.

I jumped into this one never having tried this before, and I quickly realized that it’s much easier to make a very dark poem with my books than a happy one. I’m not quite sure what that says about me and my personal library, but I ran with it. Here’s my sinister book poem.

bookspinepoem

 The Queen’s Lover,
Forbidden
Beautiful Disaster
Her Anthem,
Possession…
Envy…
and Blood Sins
Somersault
Into the Fire

So, yeah. Sorry it’s not more upbeat, lol! You’d think I’ve got some better options with all the books I’ve got but I just couldn’t come up with anything positive. I did use 4/9 free words (they’re bolded).

Let me know what you’ve got for a book spine poem, I’d love to check them out!

Reading:

Going into day 2 I was still on the 4th Sookie Stackhouse book, Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris. I finished that today for 165 pages. Then I started book 5 of course. I read an additional 117 pages from Dead as a Doornail during day 2. That adds up to a total of 282 pages for the day. Not bad at all if I may say so myself!

Day 1 total: 275 pages
Day 2 total: 282 pages
Bout of Books so far total: 557 pages

Feel free to share how you’re doing so far and happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Bout of Books: Day 2!

  1. Crystal @ Infinite Ink August 19, 2014 / 10:52 pm

    Hooray for Darcy and Elizabeth!

    Thank you for entering my giveaway. Have a great week.

    • thebookpub August 21, 2014 / 1:27 am

      Of course! Thank you for hosting it! =]

  2. Bethany DeLoof August 20, 2014 / 1:47 am

    Your poem was lovely! Awesome reading today and good luck on hopefully another great reading day for you 🙂

    • thebookpub August 21, 2014 / 1:28 am

      Thank you! I’m glad the poem is getting a little love from others, lol! Happy reading to you as well!

    • thebookpub August 21, 2014 / 1:30 am

      As much as it hurts that there are people that still haven’t read Pride and Prejudice because it’s frickin’ amazeballs, I can’t really say anything because there are TONS of books I still haven’t read that I should have. So, as long as you promise to read it someday, we’re good, lol. ;P

  3. Pan Alchemist August 20, 2014 / 3:00 pm

    Wow, you are really making progress on the page count! Keep it up!

    I liked your poem. It made me think of the harsh consequences of a forbidden romance. 😀

    • thebookpub August 21, 2014 / 1:33 am

      Thanks, I’m sure trying to keep it moving reading-wise!

      The forbidden romance was pretty much what I starting going for as soon as I had The Queens Lover and Possession and Envy (which are next to each other fancy enough) picked out. I’m glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

