Bout of Books: Day 1!

boutofbooks11

AHHH! It’s Bout of Books! Here’s all of my official Day 1 stuff from BoB 11.

Challenges:

I participated in both of today’s challeges! Thanks go to The Book Monsters and Christina at LuLo Fangirl for hosting today’s challenges!

The first challenge I did was the Bookish Scavenger Hunt hosted over at The Book Monsters. Here are the tweets I submitted for that! I totally had a blast with this, even if I couldn’t find a poetry or short story anthology to save my life at the time and used something that probably won’t count. Also, sorry ahead of time about the ginormous tweet pictures. XD

1. Book that begins with a B (for Bout of Books): Between the Bridge and the River by Craig Ferguson. I had lots of difficulty finding a book that started with a B and didn’t have ‘The’ before it, but I found about 3 at once and this was closest to me, lol.

2. Book that’s been made into a TV Show or Movie: I went with Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen because… P&P. It’s my go to, even if I am burning it out during Bout of Books, lol.

3. A Series I love: I had to go with the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian. It’s a fantastic series, plus the 12th book just came out! I CAN’T wait to get my hands on it (damn bills and grown-up-ness!)

4. An anthology of poems or short stories: Here’s my cheat entry! The Essential Chomsky Edited by Anthony Arnove. When trying to find this one I had a hell of a time. I couldn’t think of or find anything that was a literal anthology. Of course, I can think of one now…

5. A book on my TBR or my TBR shelf: I don’t separate my unread books because my OCD/anal retentiveness wouldn’t allow for it in a million years. This just so happens to be a particularly unread section on one of my fiction shelves.

The second challenge for day 1 was the Playlist challenge over at LuLo Fangirl. I had a bit of difficulty coming up with a quick playlist that I really loved, but here’s my finished product.

clubdead

I chose Club Dead by Charlaine Harris (the 1st book I finished for Bout of Books).

1. Never There by Cake
2. My Body by Young the Giant
3. An Honest Mistake by The Bravery
4. Animal by Against Me!
5. Say It by Blue October
6. Better by Regina Spektor

I think it’s a pretty fitting playlist based on Sookie’s thoughts and emotions throughout the book. So, yay!

 

Reading Update:

I’m very happy with my reading for day 1.

As mentioned above, I finished Club Dead (Sookie #3) by Charlaine Harris before bed. That was a total of 149 pages.

In addition, I started Dead to the World (Sookie #4) also by Ms. Harris. I read 126 pages of that.

That makes for a total of 275 pages for day number one. Considering everything else I did today, sleep, participate in the twitter chat, and clean my kitchen top to bottom… Just under 300 pages is a very good number for me!

I think that’s it for me as far as day 1 goes. It’ was a super productive day I’m glad to say!

How was you’re day 1 for Bout of Books? Feel free to share and Happy Reading!

15 thoughts on “Bout of Books: Day 1!

  1. Bethany DeLoof August 19, 2014 / 1:55 am

    I read 272 pages for day 1! I finished Night Film by Marisha Pessl and started We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

    Congrats on your reading and being productive in other non-bookish things! Happy reading 😀

    • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 3:37 pm

      Sounds awesome! How did you like Night Film? I’ve been seeing it around a lot and I have a freebie copy from Amazon, but I still know next to nothing about it.

      Thanks for stopping and may your day 2 go as well! =]

      • Bethany DeLoof August 19, 2014 / 4:11 pm

        I LOVED it. It was an amazing ride and I don’t think I’m fully over it. I highly suggest reading it 🙂

        I didn’t know much about it going into it and I think that’s the point. It’s very hard to explain, even after reading it so I say just go into it blind and I hope you enjoy it!

      • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 4:35 pm

        Sounds good! Thanks for letting me know. I’ve been so curious, but just haven’t picked it up yet. I think I’ll be doing that soon!

    • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 3:38 pm

      Thanks! I love them too. They get pretty intense, lol. Definitely entertaining and worth the read though!

    • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 3:42 pm

      I hope so too! I’ve got the day off today as well and I’ve already done a bit of reading. Hopefully I can keep it up! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Cindy's Love of Books August 19, 2014 / 8:05 am

    The challenges were really fun yesterday. I haven’t check the ones out for today yet… good luck

    • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 3:43 pm

      They totally were! Good luck to you as well for the challenges and read away!

    • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 3:45 pm

      Awesome! I’m glad to hear it! Hope you’re having fun so far!

  3. jirrine August 19, 2014 / 3:36 pm

    Nice job. I have also read book 1 – 4 from the Sookie Stackhouse series. Book 5 is on my nightstand waiting to get picked up. Good luck in the rest of the week 🙂

    • thebookpub August 19, 2014 / 3:50 pm

      Thanks! It’s a great series and I’m loving my re-read of it! Hopefully you enjoy them as you read the books! Best of luck to you as well! =]

      • jirrine August 19, 2014 / 3:54 pm

        Thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

