Thoughtful Thursday: Kinds of Series

ThoughtfulThursday

Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Pamela over at Reading is Fun Again. Here’s this weeks question:

There are lots of different types of series. For example, there are series that are just one long story (e.g., The Lord of the Rings), there are series that follow a character on a set of different adventures (e.g., The Dresden Files and The Sookie Stackhouse novels), and there are series that are a collection of stand alone novels all within the same universe (e.g., Star Wars Universe). What is your favorite type of series?

This was a question that I really had to think about, just because it’s not something that I generally think about… if that makes sense. I love series. I love to immerse myself in a world that I don’t have to say goodbye to right away which means I read a lot of series. Picking a favorite kind though… That’s not easy for me partly because when I read it’s not just the characters or just the story. Here’s a couple of examples.

I recently finished the eighth Mercy Thompson book and man did I LOVE them. Mercy and Adam are like…. the best. That’s all. Every book was an adventure full of humor and snark and sometimes sad things. Those books are just plain phenomenal. It’s a series that follows the same set of main characters on a bunch of different missions and adventures so there was always something new coming from the page. On the other hand, a few months back I marathoned the Feral Warriors series. In that series each book has it’s own adventure, but plays a part in one huge story arc. And having a series done that way means that overall story can be even more epic and detailed than if it’s limited to one book. In addition, each book was a new set of main characters, because what goes better together than fighting for survival and lotsa romance? And that, while not giving the long term character development offered in a series like Mercy Thompson, does offer you a range of characters to meet and grow to love. And sometimes that’s exactly what I want.

Simply, that’s a really long way of saying I’m a cop out and have no favorite, because I simply can’t choose between those two kinds of series. They each have their merits, and me being the moody reader I am cannot chose one over the other. Just gimme all the books, kay?

Random note, point to me for not starting my answer with “So” this week like I have for the other three TT’s I’ve done, lol.

What is your take on the different kinds of series? Feel free to share with the class!

Leave a Reply

