Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidianSynopsis from Goodreads:

Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is.

When I picked up Obsidian, I was really hankering for an alien story and this was one I had seen talked about a lot, that had really good reviews. So, I decided to give it a go, because why not?

Our main characters Katy and Daemon are an interesting mix. I quite liked Katy just because she didn’t put up with Daemon’s shit and generally gave as good as she got. She had her moments of ‘Whaaaaa?’ followed by her moments of acceptance and moving on with how things would have to be and I liked that about her. She’s also a book nerd, so props there.  Daemon on the other hand… Daemon’s kind of annoying. His character is frustrating in the way only the “typical” male could be, but the whole alien thing makes up for some of it.

The characters overall, both Katy and Daemon and the others like Dee, Ash, Katy’s mom and so on were written quite well I thought. They each had their own personality and feel so I could decide to love or hate them as I was reading. Definitely a plus of this book.

The story, aliens hidden here on earth with the help of the government and the secret alien attacks that happen in the dead of night and all that, did keep my interest throughout the book. I liked reading about the Luxen and the Arum and waiting to see what, if any, part the DoD would play in the story. Intrigued I was with that part of Obsidian.

Here’s what I didn’t love about this story. This may be my own problem because Obsidian came after all these other things for me, but as I read I kept seeing bits of other stories in this one. There were things that were reminiscent of Roswell and Twilight and stuff like that. I ignored it for the most part, but to me it was there all the same. Also, I don’t love YA that much anymore. There’s a lot of pettiness and drama that I’ve already lived and am over. I saw some of that pettiness in Obsidian. Again, I tried not to let it get to me, but it was still there.

All in all, I thought Obsidian was a pretty entertaining book. It’s gets my points for sheer enjoyableness alone. Regardless of what annoyed me I still got hooked into the story and liked (or hated) the characters. This book is one I can just shut my brain off and read for fun. 4/4 stars.

The Lux series:

1. Obsidian
2. Onyx
3. Opal
4. Origin
5. Opposition (To be released: Aug 5, 2014)

One thought on “Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

