Thoughtful Thursday: How Do You Marathon Series?

ThoughtfulThursday

Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Pamela over at Reading is Fun Again. This weeks Thoughtful Thursday question is:

Assuming that you are late to the party with a book series (and the entire series is completed) and you want to read every piece of text within a series’ universe that you can get your hands on, in what order to you read the books, short stories, and novellas within the universe? Do you read the books first and then the short stories and novellas if you want more? Do you read the books, short stories, and novellas in order (either publication or chronological)? Do you read them in some other order?

So, I am a big fan of just marathoning a series after the last book has been released. I don’t always do that (I’m lookin’ at you Bloodlines – I knew I should have waited), but I kinda hate waiting to find out what happens next. That being said, when it comes to actually reading the series I’m pretty particular. I pretty much have to read all of the novels in published order and I almost never go out of order or skip books. When it comes to the novellas, I can leave them or take them. Unless the author lets us know that they need to be read because of some event related to the main story arc, I generally won’t read them though (mostly because I’m cheap and I hate that the novella bind-ups are always SO expensive).

Basically, the only thing I’m really a stickler for is reading the novels in order. Beyond that, anything goes.

How do you guys read series? Feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

