Book Review: Rule by Jay Crownover

ruleSynopsis from Goodreads:

Opposites in every way . . . except the one that matters 

Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight–A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want–and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.

To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess-and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw-even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.

But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails, and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love . . . or each other.

Rule is a book that would constantly be suggested to me when I was browsing the nook store, but I never really gave it more than a glance for whatever reason. Once I saw some of the response this book (and the series) was getting I decided it couldn’t hurt to check it out. I’m quite glad I did.

Rule Archer is an intriguing character. From chapter 1 he both interested and infuriated me. I had lots of impressions and assumptions about him – mostly along the lines of a lot of what he deals with is of his own making. That said, from the get-go we also learn about his guilt regarding his brother. It was certainly interesting to watch him grow and change throughout the book.

Shaw is very different from Rule in most ways, but I still love her character because she’s so true to herself and she’s a very strong female character. It takes cajones to deal with Rule’s shit, just sayin’. I also love the fact that regardless of her roots, she’s trying to give herself a more realistic life and college experience so to speak. It’s not something I see very often in books.

Having talked about Shaw and Rule, I must of course talk about their relationship. Difficult is probably the best word to use. For the most part they have to put in some serious work to make things succeed for them and its not an easy road. One of the most fulfilling things about this story is that they are so different, yet they compliment each other so well. It truly makes the book fly by.

I quickly want to mention some of the other characters in the book. Ayden, Rome, Nash, Jet, Cara – I love all the characters. Part of the reason I kept reading these books was because I just really fell in love with all of them. No matter what size part they had they still felt flushed out and real to me.

Despite all the goodness that Rule was, there were a couple of things that bothered me while reading. The first is that at times some of the dialogue felt really forced to me. It was almost like the author was trying too hard to use ‘cool’ terms and such. It didn’t take away from the story, but it did stand out a bit. Second, I hate to say it, but the editing. Oh my holy universe the editing. This series is everything I hate about poorly edited books. Simple misspellings and things that even spell-check would catch and it adds up and just bugs the hell out of me. I still read it, but it couldn’t be ignored and it has to be mentioned.

All in all, I very much enjoyed reading Rule. The relationship between Rule and Shaw was very fulfilling, all of the characters were great and the book really did fly by regardless of the bad things. I can’t wait to keep reading this series as it comes out! 4/5 stars.

The Marked Men Series:

1. Rule
2. Jet
3. Rome
4. Nash (Release Date 4/29/2014 – TEN DAYS WOOT!!)
5. Rowdy (Expected Release 10/21/2014)
6. Asa (Release Date to be announced)

One thought on “Book Review: Rule by Jay Crownover

Leave a Reply

