Thoughtful Thursday: Best Bookish Changes

ThoughtfulThursday

Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme held by Pamela over at Reading is Fun Again. This weeks question is:

What is one of the best changes in the literary/book world that you have noticed, since you have begun reading? What makes this change so great for you?

So, my answer to this is a bit of  double edged sword, but all things internet-y and social media have really changed reading for me. Primarily what I mean by that is, I’m reading things now that I never thought I would read when I was younger or even when I started blogging back in 2010. As a kid I pretty much stuck with contemporary YA with a few exceptions. As I got older I read some classics and standard literary fiction and lots of non-fiction related to what I was studying in college, but that was it for the most part. After blogging though, I got into romance. Then I got into science fiction and fantasy. This is all because through things like blogs, twitter, and goodreads I was able to make the determination that this might be a good book to check out, and so I would. Then I would love it. For me, that’s huge – having all these books I never would have looked at because they were out of my comfort zone in the bookstore.

The reason I called it a double edged sword though is because man-oh-man do I buy books like it’s going out of style. Buying books isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but buying so many books that you don’t even know what to do with – yeah that’s me ever since the bookish side of the internet fell into my hands. Could be worse though! 😛

Whats the best change in the book world in your opinion? Feel free to share!

2 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday: Best Bookish Changes

  1. Katherine Nabity April 17, 2014 / 3:50 pm

    This sounds like me and historical fiction in the last few years. I’d never really touched the stuff until I started seeing good review *everywhere*. So, so many books!

  2. thebookpub April 18, 2014 / 12:56 am

    It’s so true, there’s so many books, but once you bring goodreads and the like into the picture there are even MORE books. Gotta love it though.

Leave a Reply

