Book Clubs and More New Stuff?

I had every intention of getting together a review in place of this post, but I just finished a book that tore my heart to shreds and I can’t contemplate doing a review in this state of mind, so… I shall discuss something else.

Book Clubs!

I’ve always loved the idea of a book club. Getting together with a bunch of other people to read a particular book and discuss it in detail? Yes please. Yet, as much as the idea appealed to me, I’ve never actually been part of a book club. Don’t get me wrong, I’m in a few groups on goodreads, but I’m not always up for reading the books posted. Plus it’s online and part of the appeal for me has always been actually sitting down with people over coffee and food to chat. That said, lets wind the clocks back to last summer.

I was hanging out with two of my besties when we jokingly came up with the idea of having our own little book club. We always said we should think about it and talk about it, but nothing ever cemented. We mentioned the idea back and forth for a while, but it wasn’t until February of 2014 that we got serious. We set a date. We met and brought suggestions. We set ourselves up with notebooks like good little nerds. We figured out what we wanted it to be for us (one book at a time, one movie a week). And thus, Read ‘Til You Bleed was born.

I know it sounds like a bad or negative name, but it actually arose as a joke between us and it stuck. So we call our book club Read ‘Til You Bleed. And we love it. Once a week we meet, we talk, we laugh. It’s super. Personally, I think everyone should have a Read ‘Til’ You Bleed, but that’s just me.

There’s a couple of reasons I started talking about this. First, I’ve actually gotten a lot out of it. Not just the social aspect of sharing something we all love, but I’ve noticed I read differently than when I’m just reading myself. I pick up on other things and we feed off each other, noticing actions or words or something that we might not have caught if not for our previous discussions. Of course, it may just be that the first book we chose ended up being pure amazeballs, but you never know…

The second reason I mentioned it is because I’ve decided to include reviews from RTYB choices here on the blog. Both for the books we read and the movies we watch. The way I’m planning on doing this is posting the book reviews after the last meet for them and I’ll post one movie review a week. The only thing I’m not sure of yet is if I’m going to get input from Becca and Stacy, the other RTYBers, directly or if I’ll share snippets from them or if it’ll be just my own thoughts. For that, you’ll have to keep an eye out for “RTYB Reviews.”

I think that’s everything I have to say, but what about you? How do you feel about book clubs? Ever been part of one? If so, what was it like? Did you notice any differences in your reading or thoughts? Share… Share it all please!

Leave a Reply

