2014 Reading Goals

With the start of a new year, that means there are goals and resolutions and ideas that abound. Here are some of my bookish goals for 2014.

My overall goal this year is to read 130 books. Last year I read just shy of 130, and I don’t want to stress myself out too much so I figured that few extra was best. Plus, it’s a totally doable goal for myself.

Of that 130 books, I’d like to read at least 30 books from my TBR pile, so books that I purchased before 2014. Believe me, I’ve got PLENTY to choose from.

Recently I haven’t been reading a lot of the genres that I used to read, I’ve been reading romance and erotica almost exclusively and as much as I love those genres I would like to start branching out again. Specifically, I plan to read 10 non-fiction books and 10 science fiction/fantasy books in 2014. Non-fiction is actually one of my favorite genre’s to read from and I just haven’t read much of it lately whereas sci-fi and fantasy are a more recent love of mine.

Aside from those goals, I’m planning to participate in a couple of the reading challenges being held by The Book Vixen. I’ll do post’s for each challenge specifically, and to track progress, but here are the two challenges I’m going to take part in.

Men in Uniform Challenge:

This is all about reading books with hero’s who wear uniforms of any sort. There’s just something irresistible about a man in uniform and that holds true to books. My goal is 10 books, or the Lieutenant level.

Contemporary Romance Challenge:

I haven’t read much romance that is strictly contemporary, but when I do it is almost always the same two authors. In an attempt to branch out as far as contemporary goes, I’m planning to read the ten books for this challenge. However, as an added challenge for myself, I want to read ten new to me authors. I think that’s a doable goal.

I have tons of reads that I’m looking forward to this year, plus I’m sure I’ll find tons more books that I can’t wait to get my hands on as the year goes on.

Do you have any goals for 2014? Participating in any challenges that you’re excited about? Do tell!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

